Skip to content

Pull up a Chair and Sit Down

September 27, 2016

_take-a-seat

It was 108 fahrenheit as we  Stepped  out of the Fish warehouse and  headed  to the right under the shade of the building.  This Fish Market  turned out to be a Bust so we decided to go to a Carpet Market that the hotel concierge had Mentioned.  On the Map we were given  it appeared to be Really Close  so we left the shade of the building and stepped into the oppressive heat of the sun.  we were in a pier like area  so there was not really block  but we walked  maybe 2-3 blocks  and the sun was just unbearable, worse than that  all the buildings within sight were very non descript and the map I had was very undetailed so I was just guessing where we were headed.  Sweat was dripping down my forehead  by the time we had walked the 4 blocks to a road.  Looking down the street I had a really good Idea of where we wanted to go but I was not 100%  and with the Un relenting Sun beating down on us I stuck out my hand and  got a taxi.  I pointed to the carpet market Circled on the map and the driver nodded and headed down the road. The Market was  the building I though it was  but  took a few mins to get to because we could only make turns at certain points.  The Taxi came to a  stop in the middle of a square strip mall like area  with every store  in the square  selling carpets.  When I got  out of the taxi and took  the area in  I saw 15  men  stand  up to greet us or  come out of their store.  Right away I knew this is not what we wanted and  this was  gonna be like the fish market where we have vendors all over us, but it was too late the cab had already left.  We quickly had  8  people next to us  “please  come this way” “come see  our Carpet” “What Kind of Carpet are you looking for”

It was not what we wanted at all, since  we had  no Taxi and I didn’t want to poo poo  some thing with out trying we  said ok and  choose a random store and walked in  the owner followed us and  turned on the lights as we entered.     The space felt small inside  but there was Rugs stacked all around the room, I gave it a quick  look around but this was just not what I was looking for, and in my opinion the rugs were not even  of the highest quality.  What I was Expecting was a more open air BAzzar  type  feel with  higher quality hand crafted  rugs, More like from this post I did on my Trip  to Turkmenistan we  left the store and walked along the square to find a Taxi  as the  other store owners  followed us and  kept asking us to go to their store.    When we reached the Road the vendors finally relented and  we stood  there baking in the sun  for a few mins till we saw a cab  to flag down.  Discouraged by our  last two stops we told the driver to head to the Abu Dhabi World Trade Center  which had a large Mall and Indoor Souk, so down the road we went……

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

