Skip to content

The Light Ahead

January 4, 2012
The Light Ahead Copyright Bryan Moore 2012

The Light Ahead Copyright Bryan Moore 2012

Every year you will hear it ” this is gonna be a great year” “This is the year I am gonna make it”  for the first time I can remember  I don’t feel like that.  I don’t have that good vibe about the brand new year, Just this morning I was told that the lab I take all my work to was sold over the holiday and will now not do any B&W film development.  Fortunately I have done alot of business with  them in the last 6 months and one of there printers reached out to me to  still do my work as a freelance client.  He had developed close to 300 rolls of film for me And I have been pretty happy with the way the film has come out, I am still  not sure of his skills as a printer  but if all else fails I will have to rent a lab some where in the city.  But I say its fortunate that he called  b/c I had planed to drop some film at the lab that afternoon.  I am still not sure if it was shady or convenient that he agreed to come pick up my film, either way though  I agreed to it.  He said  I would get it back Thursday so I am looking forward  to see what kinda shots I get back.  it was half 35mm and half 2 1/4.  The 35mm is from my lieca and I was really experimenting with shooting blind and just judging light by eye,  so the photos could be any range of thing.  Its hard for me to shoot like this though b/c I feel so strongly about composition and I  prefer never to crop.  I wanted to show this pick cuz its one of the last new years pictures i have from 2010  and also,  I may not have good vibes about 2012, but it could be like this.  A bunch of garbage in the foreground and just gets brighter the further in you go.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Merilee Mitchell permalink
    January 4, 2012 4:56 am

    Love this shot. BTW, don’t be afraid to shoot blind. Just do it. I rarely end up cropping those shots I’ve done blind. For some odd reason, they end up better than a lot that I’ve labored over.

Leave a Reply

