Skip to content

Inspired by a Master: Georgia O’Keeffe

May 10, 2011
Radiator Building by O'keeffee

Radiator Building by O'keeffee

New York with Moon by O'keeffe

New York with Moon by O'keeffe

Shelton with Sunspots by O'keeffe

Shelton with Sunspots by O'keeffe

 Georgia O’Keeffe has always been one of my favorite painters partly b/c of her tie to Alfred Stieglitz.  Stieglitz was smitten with O’Keeffe and showed her work at his Gallery “291″.  O’Keeffe was most famous for her large scale paints of flowers and later of the south west.    I rarely hear about her work of New York City.  From what i know she was never really a fan of the city, thus causing  her to travel to the south west and NM.   O’Keeffe once said “One Can’t Paint New York as it is, but rather as i is felt” which is a thought I have when I look at some of the architecturally shots I have been taking lately.  The way she uses the buildings to divided up  up the canvas and the use of simpler shapes is what I really love about.  I always try and simplify what is happening in my frame and I feel the same effects in these NY paints.  I also love her use of solar and light flares  which is something I tend to have in a lot of my work.  Below are some of the works I have been shooting lately with my Iphone  that have similar  look to those of O’Keeffe

New York, New York, Las Vegas Copyright Bryan Moore2011

New York, New York, Las Vegas Copyright Bryan Moore2011

Star Flare Night Copyright Bryan Moore 2011

Star Flare Night Copyright Bryan Moore 2011

SunSpot Copyright Bryan Moore 2011

SunSpot Copyright Bryan Moore 2011

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

