Skip to content

Adventure right around the corner

October 24, 2009
Cuban Street Sign Copyright 2009 Bryan Moore

Cuban Street Sign Copyright 2009 Bryan Moore

Ever since I got back from Cuba I have been wanting to travel some where else, but where?  While working on the book for my Cuba work I also took time of to apply for a number of grants  to  get the money to travel and document something.  while thinking of projects to write about I had looked in to countries that had  there borders closed at one point.  I researched the history of countries day after day and then came to a country  I had never heard of.  My father had sent me an article on Turkmenistan, an ex-soviet country that in its entire 15 year history  of Independence was ruled by  one of the largest personal cults in the world.

With only 1500 visitors last year this seemed like the perfect country to visit for a photo project.  The Idea that I could photograph something that most people have never seen  is a huge thrill.  It’s hard to tell what I will see when I get there  in the research I have done there has not a vast amount out there about the country.  One of the things I am looking forward to is the huge open air  market located in the capital.  The Market was originally a big stop on the travelers of the silk road.  I am hopping this will provide alot of opportunities for  great images.  Beyond that  there are many sites stretching throw the desert of past great empire that once ruled the land.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 6:21 pm

    Very nice blog! Keep up the good blogging!

    I hope you can come visit my blog sometime.

    http://bigworldcentral.wordpress.com/

  2. Angie permalink
    October 26, 2009 4:35 am

    I’m so excited for you! It’ll be such a great experience + I can’t wait to see pictures.

Leave a Reply

